思潮竹 – 作者無名氏 Bamboo-A Parable (English & Powerpoint below)

思潮竹 — 作者無名氏

從前在東方王國的中部,有一座美麗的花園。每日傍晚時分,園子的主人就會來這裏散步。在園子裏的樹木中,最美麗、且最被主人所愛的就是那優雅而高貴的竹。

隨著一年年的過去,竹長得愈來愈美麗而優雅。他也深知主人對他的愛,以及當他主人觀賞他時的喜悅之情,然而他卻是最謙虛,在任何事上都是那麼溫柔。經常當風兒來訪,在園裏歡樂戲耍時,竹便會暫棄他的尊嚴。他會隨風起舞,快樂地左右搖擺、跳躍,狂放而喜悅地鞠躬。他會帶領整個園子的樹木一起來舞蹈,而那最使得他主人的心喜悅無比。

有一天主人走近竹的身旁深思。竹帶著好奇的期盼神情,將他那高俊的頭鞠躬到地,來向主人表達他充滿愛意的問候。主人說:「竹啊,竹啊,我想要用你。」

竹說:「主人,我已經準備好了,請隨您心意來用我吧。」

主人帶著沉重的聲調說:「竹啊,我必須把你砍下來。」竹因驚怕而全身打戰。

「把…我…砍下來?會是我嗎?…主人…您把我栽培成園中最美之物,把我砍下來?噢,您千萬不能這麼做!千萬不能!主人啊,請用我來討您喜悅吧,但請不要把我砍下來!」

「親愛的竹啊,」主人的聲調變得更為沉重:「如我不把你砍下來的話,我便不能用你。」

整個園子寂靜無聲,風兒也屏住呼吸。竹緩慢地垂下他那驕傲而榮耀的頭,微聲回答說:「主人,如果您不把我砍下來,就不能用我的話,那麼,就照您的意思砍下來吧。」

「竹啊,親愛的竹啊,我必須把你的葉子和枝子也剪掉。」

「主人,主人,饒我這一關吧!把我砍下來,讓我躺在塵土中保持我的美麗,但是您一定要把我的葉子和枝子都剪掉嗎?」

「是啊,竹,如果我不把它們剪掉的話,我便不能用你。」太陽聽見後,遮住了他的臉孔,一隻在旁聆聽的蝴蝶也害怕地飛走了。

竹因充滿害怕而顫抖,他低聲的回答:「主人,就把它們剪掉吧。」

「竹啊,竹啊,我必須把你切成兩半,並把你的心挖空,因為我若不這麼做的話,我便不能用你。」

「主人,主人,就這麼做吧。」

於是,園子的主人就把竹砍下來,去掉他的枝子和削掉他的葉子,把他切成兩半,並把他的心挖掉。然後溫柔地把他拿起來,將他帶到主人乾旱田地中間一條湧流著清新亮晶的泉水那裏。

主人溫柔地把他親愛的竹放下來,把竹的一端放在小溪裏,把另一端放進他田裏的水管裏。泉水唱出歡迎的歌,清澈無比而亮晶晶的水快樂地通過竹那破碎的身體,流入那正在渴求等待的田地。

然後稻秧被插下,日子一天天的過去,稻秧開始長大,收成的時候到了。在那天,曾經以他高貴的美麗而那麼榮耀的竹,現在以他的破碎及謙卑,變得更為榮耀。因為當他本身美麗時,他的生命豐盛;但當他本身破碎時,他成為一個管道,把豐盛的生命帶到他主人的世界裏!

「於是耶穌叫眾人和門徒來,對他們說:若有人要跟從我,就當捨己,背起他的十字架來跟從我。因為凡要救自己生命的,必喪掉生命。凡為我和福音喪掉生命的,必救了生命。人就是賺得全世界,賠上自己的生命,有什麼益處呢?」(馬可福音8:34-36)

The Parable of Bamboo Presentation click here

bamboo-pipe

Bamboo

Once upon a time in the heart of the Eastern Kingdom lay a beautiful garden. And there in the cool of the day was the Master of the garden, who went for a walk. Of all the dwellers of the garden, the most beautiful and beloved was a gracious and noble Bamboo.

Year after year Bamboo grew yet more beautiful and gracious. He was conscious of his Master’s love and watchful delight. Yet he was modest and in all things gentle. Often when Wind came to revel in the garden, Bamboo would throw aside his dignity. He would dance and sway merrily, tossing and swaying and leaping and bowing in joyous abandon. He would lead the great dance of the garden which most delighted his Master’s heart.

One day the Master himself drew near to contemplate his Bamboo. With eyes of curious expectancy, Bamboo bowed his great head to the ground in loving greeting. The Master spoke: “Bamboo, Bamboo, I would use you.”

Bamboo said, “Master, I am ready, use me as you want.”

“Bamboo,” the Master’s voice was grave, “I would be obliged to take you and cut you down.” A trembling of great horror shook Bamboo.

“Cut … me … down? Me, whom You, Master, have made the most beautiful in all of Your garden? To cut me down? Ah, not that! Not that! Use me for Your joy, O Master, but cut me not down!”

“Beloved Bamboo,” the Master’s voice grew graver still, “if I do not cut you down, then I cannot use you.”

The garden grew still. Wind held his breath. Bamboo slowly bent his proud and glorious head. There came a whisper. Bamboo replied, “Master, if You cannot use me unless You cut me down, then do Your will and cut.”

“Bamboo, beloved Bamboo, I would cut your leaves and branches from you also.”

“Master, Master, spare me! Cut me down and lay my beauty in the dust, but would You take from me my leaves and branches also?”

“Bamboo, alas! If I do not cut them away, I cannot use you.” The Sun hid his face. A listening butterfly glided fearfully away.

Bamboo shivered in terrible expectancy, whispering low, “Master, cut away.”

“Bamboo, Bamboo, I would divide you in two and cut out your heart, for if I do not cut so, I cannot use you.”

“Master, Master, then cut and divide.”

So did the Master of the garden take Bamboo and cut him down and hack off his branches and strip off his leaves and divide him in two and cut out his heart. Lifting him gently, he carried him to where there was a spring of fresh, sparkling water in the midst of Master’s dry fields.

Then putting down one end of Bamboo in the spring, and the other end into the water channel in his field, the Master laid down gently his beloved Bamboo. The spring sang welcome. The clear sparkling water raced joyously down the channel of Bamboo’s torn body into the waiting fields.

Then the rice was planted and the days went by. The shoots grew. The harvest came. In that day was Bamboo, once so glorious in his stately beauty, yet more glorious in his brokenness and humility. For in his beauty he was life abundant. But in his brokenness he became a channel of abundant life to his Master’s world!

“And when He had called the people unto Him with His disciples also, He said unto them, ‘Whosoever will come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whosoever will save his life shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his life for My sake and the Gospel’s, the same shall save it. For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?’“ (Mark 8:34-36).

Leave a Reply

